The stormy season of the 25th Viennese Ice Dream closes

(Vienna, 2 March 2020)  In its anniversary season, this year’s Viennese Ice Dream had to overcome a number of challenges – with storms, rain and spring-like temperatures. Because, unfortunately, Petra, Ciara, Julia and Bianca don’t seem to be fans of ice skating.  However, the competence and many years of experience of the staff along with state-of-the-art technology proved their worth, making it possible to offer the 550,000 visitors a wonderful 9,000 m² ice-skating experience all the same.

With the popular Sky Rink ice terrace, the romantic routes through the park, the expansive areas, the two free practice areas, the eight ice stock shooting lanes and the diverse gastronomy on offer – the winter highlight of the Viennese Ice Dream was an impressive event, despite the freak weather. In particular, the chalet with its own ice stock shooting lane was very popular and hosted many events.

More seating, new lockers, four more ticket machines, an additional skate hire window and the services provided by the online shop ensured shorter waiting times and much improved convenience for visitors.

Certification as environmentally friendly event

Reusable crockery, organic produce and many locally produced dishes, a responsible waste management system and much more: the Viennese Ice Dream has been showing for many years how even large events can be designed to be more environmentally friendly. For its efforts, in 2020 the event was therefore awarded the “ÖkoEvent” certification. You can find the details about the prized Viennese umbrella brand for events HERE.

© stadtwienmarketing / David Bohmann

High-level ice skating

Ice skating fans can really work up speed on the gigantic area of around 9,000 m2. Along with an incomparable atmosphere, visitors can expect a unique icescape leading across four large rinks and romantic paths through the park all the way up to the first floor. Since 2019, skating on two levels has been possible with the construction of the spectacular SKY RINK ice terrace. Free practice areas invite children and beginners to take their first steps on the ice, while eight ice stock shooting lanes provide entertainment for team games. All this, and so much more, make the winter paradise between Rathaus and Burgtheater a unique attraction worldwide – the ultimate ice skating pleasure!

Swinging team sport

Eight ice stock shooting lanes are available for the entertaining team sport – culinary fortification included.  The popular lanes can be reserved online from Monday to Friday, 17:00 to 22:00. For special occasions or group and company events, you have the option of exclusively booking a magical chalet with its own ice stock shooting lane.

© stadtwienmarketing / Christian Jobst
© stadtwienmarketing / Christian Jobst

Varied, high-quality gastronomy

Fans of all taste directions can enjoy a large offering of spicy and sweet delicacies at the Viennese Ice Dream – many of them in organic quality. With the “Viennese Ice Dream” Menage-Reindl, the dishes can also easily be taken home.

More infos on the culinary offering

Free ice for schools

The city of Vienna invites all Viennese kindergartens, schools and day care centres in the school association to skate for free at the Viennese Ice Dream. This “school campaign” runs on school days from Monday to Friday, 10:00 to 16:00, and is used by some 45,000 children every season.

More infos on the school campaign
© stadtwienmarketing / Jutta Schmidt
© stadtwienmarketing / David Bohmann

On-site ice skate rental

No skates of your own? No problem! The Viennese Ice Dream naturally also provides a good assortment of rental skates: some 2,000 pairs of air-warmed skates in sizes 23 to 52. In addition, 300 helmets and adjustable double runners in sizes 21 to 25 are available for children for free.

Online service – fast and cheap

At the Viennese Ice Dream, you can take care of everything you need to skate online. In the online shop, you can easily pay online for tickets, ice skates and many additional services, such as grinding or lockers. And you can even save money! There is a 10% discount on every online purchase. With your booking code, you can then simply pick up your tickets at the automatic ticket counter.

© iStock / Andranik Hakobyan

Opening hours

Viennese Ice Dream is closed by December 2020.

How to get here

By public transport:

Tram:
* Lines 1 and D
(Rathausplatz/Burgtheater stop)
* Line 2
(Stadiongasse/Parlament stop)
* Line 71
(Rathausplatz/Burgtheater stop)

Underground:
* U2 Rathaus station

To the practical route planner of Wiener Linien

Parking your car:

Visitors of the Viennese Ice Dream with a valid ticket can park at the BOE Parking Rathausplatz for a package price. Please postmark your ticket at the info stand beside the pay desk, then go to the garage and pay for the parking there.

Price for parking at BOE Parking Rathausplatz:
4 hours = 4 € (regular price after 4 hours)

Weather and webcam

.

View from the Burgtheater onto Vienna’s Rathaus: clickHERE!

View from the Rathaus onto the Rathausplatz: click HERE!

Die stürmische Saison des 25. Wiener Eistraums ist zu Ende

Der heurige Wiener Eistraum hatte ausgerechnet in seiner Jubiläumssaison mit Stürmen, Regen und frühlingshaften Temperaturen einige Herausforderungen zu bewältigen. Denn Petra, Sabine, Yulia und Bianca sind wohl leider keine Eislauffans.  Hier bewährte sich jedoch die Kompetenz und jahrelange Erfahrung der Mitarbeiter sowie modernste Technik, um den 550.000 BesucherInnen dennoch ein traumhaftes Eislauferlebnis auf 9.000 m² bieten zu können.

Ob die beliebte Eisterrasse Sky Rink, die romantischen Wege durch den Park, die weitläufigen Flächen, die beiden kostenlosen Übungsareale, die acht Eisstockbahnen oder die vielfältige Gastronomie – das winterliche Freizeithighlight Wiener Eistraum war trotz der Wetterkapriolen wieder ein beeindruckendes Ereignis. Besonders das Chalet mit eigener Eisstockbahn erfreute sich großer Beliebtheit und wurde für viele Veranstaltungen genutzt.

Vermehrte Sitzmöglichkeiten, neue Schließfächer, vier weitere Ticketautomaten, ein zusätzliches Ausgabefenster beim Schlittschuhverleih sowie die Angebote des  Onlineshops sorgten für kürzere Wartezeiten und erhöhten somit den Komfort für die BesucherInnen deutlich.

Auszeichnung als ÖkoEvent

Mehrweggeschirr, Lebensmittel in Bio-Qualität sowie viele kulinarische Angebote aus heimischer Produktion, ein verantwortungsbewusstes Abfallsystem und vieles mehr – der Wiener Eistraum zeigt bereits seit vielen Jahren vor, wie auch Großveranstaltungen umweltfreundlich ausgerichtet werden können. 2020 wurde der Event dafür mit dem Zertifikat „ÖkoEvent“ ausgezeichnet. Alle Details zur begehrten Wiener Dachmarke für Events finden Sie HIER.

© stadtwienmarketing / David Bohmann

Eislaufen auf hohem Niveau

Auf der gigantischen Fläche von rund 9.000 m² können Eislaufbegeisterte inmitten der Stadt so richtig Schwung holen. Nebem einem unvergleichlichen Ambiente erwartet die BesucherInnen eine einzigartige Eislandschaft, die über vier große Flächen und romantische Pfade im Park bis in den ersten Stock führt. Denn seit 2019 ist durch die Errichtung der spektakulären Eisterrasse SKY RINK das Eislaufen auf zwei Ebenen möglich. Kostenlose Übungsflächen laden Kinder und AnfängerInnen auf erste Versuche ein und acht Eisstockbahnen bieten mannschaftliche Unterhaltung. Das alles und noch viel mehr macht das Winterparadies zwischen Rathaus und Burgtheater zu einer weltweit einzigartigen Attraktion – mehr Eislaufvergnügen geht nicht!

Teamsport mit Schwung

Acht Eisstockbahnen stehen für den unterhaltsamen Mannschaftsport inklusive kulinarischer Begleitung bereit.  Die äußerst beliebten Bahnen können von Montag bis Freitag von 17 bis 22 Uhr online reserviert werden. Für besondere Anlässe oder Gruppen- und Firmenevents gibt es die Möglichkeit, exklusiv ein zauberhaftes Chalet mit eigener Eisstockbahn anzumieten.

© stadtwienmarketing / Christian Jobst
© stadtwienmarketing / Christian Jobst

Kulinarische Vielfalt höchster Qualität

Feinschmecker aller Geschmacksrichtungen kommen beim Wiener Eistraum in den Genuss eines großen Angebotes pikanter und süßer Köstlichkeiten – großteils sogar in BIO-Qualität. Mit dem „Wiener Eistraum“-Menage-Reindl können die Schmankerl auch bequem mitgenommen werden.

Eis frei für Schulen

Beim Wiener Eistraum lädt die Stadt Wien alle Wiener Kindergärten, Schulen und Horte im Schulverband zum kostenlosen Eislaufen ein. Diese „Schulaktion“ gilt jeweils an Schultagen von Montag bis Freitag von 10 bis 16 Uhr und wird pro Saison von rund 45.000 Kindern genützt.

Mehr Infos zur Schulaktion
© stadtwienmarketing / Jutta Schmidt
© stadtwienmarketing / David Bohmann

Schlittschuhverleih vor Ort

Keine Ausrüstung dabei? Kein Problem! Der Wiener Eistraum bietet selbstverständlich auch einen gut sortierten Schlittschuhverleih mit rund 2.000 Paar mit Warmluft vorgewärmten Eislaufschuhen in den Größen 23 bis 52. Zusätzlich dazu stehen für Kinder 300 Schutzhelme sowie verstellbare Doppelkufen in den Größen 21 bis 25 kostenlos zur Verfügung.

Onlineservice – schnell und günstig

Beim Wiener Eistraum können Sie alles, was Sie zum Eislaufen brauchen, online erledigen. Im Online-Shop können Tickets, Schlittschuhe und viele Services wie z. B. Kantenschleifen oder Schließfächer einfach und unkompliziert online bezahlt werden. Und das Beste daran: Sie sparen damit auch noch Geld! Denn auf jeden Online-Kauf gibt es 10 % Rabatt. Mit dem Buchungscode können Sie dann bequem Ihre Tickets am Ticketautomaten abholen.

© iStock / Andranik Hakobyan

Öffnungszeiten

Der Wiener Eistraum ist geschlossen bis Dezember 2020.

Erreichbarkeit

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel:

Straßenbahn:
* Linien 1 und D
(Haltestelle Rathausplatz / Burgtheater)
* Linie 2
(Haltestelle Stadiongasse / Parlament)
* Linie 71
(Haltestelle Rathausplatz / Burgtheater)

U – Bahn:
* U2 Haltestelle Rathaus

Hier geht’s zum praktischen Routenplaner der Wiener Linien

Parken:

In der BOE Garage Rathauspark gilt für Besucher des Wiener Eistraums mit gültiger Eintrittskarte ein Pauschaltarif. Bitte lassen Sie Ihr Einfahrtsticket beim Informationsstand neben den Kassen abstempeln, die Bezahlung des Tarifs erfolgt dann direkt in der Garage.

Preis in der BOE Garage Rathausplatz:
4 Stunden = 4 € (ab der 5. Stunde gilt der Normaltarif)

Wetter und Webcam

Blick vom Burgtheater auf das Wiener Rathaus: HIER klicken!

Blick vom Rathaus auf den Rathausplatz: HIER klicken!